Everton sign Peterlin

PeterlinWEBAs reported on Soccernet this morning, Everton have announced their first signing of the summer–American midfielder Anton Peterlin.  Huh?  My first thought when I read this was that they’d mixed up this player’s nationality.  I was wrong.  Then it hit me:  I remember reading one or two stories about Peterlin’s wonder trial at Everton and the very real possibility that he could receive a contract.  Receive he did–a 1-year contract for a “nominal” fee.  So just who is Peterlin?  Well, he’s from San Francisco; he’s (another) defensive mid; he stands at 5-11, 170;  and he is a Cal Poly mustang.  That’s about all I know.  (Don’t worry–we’ll be getting plenty of  “Just Who Is Anton Peterlin stories in the near future.)

I don’t know about you guys, but I’m with Kevin (see comments section in linked article)–one more American and we can officially start calling Everton “Amerton”.

One Response

  1. […] Jo’s loan extension).  You may remember that fellow American Anton Peterlin was the first.  Arnoux is a 5-foot-10 Wake Forest striker.  He was the first player in school history to […]

Leave a Reply

